Current * Older
Profile
GuestBook * Notes
Rings * Links
Kucinich in 2004
Diaryland
*****

27 October 2003 - 7:39 p.m.

Aural Stimuli: general internet cafe noises ... wait! I think I hear The Ramones!!
Oral Stimuli: a Pepsi, dammit
I Hate: mostly all parts of Maine

Back at the "JavaNet Caf�" my personal refuge from all things Maine. At the moment I can hear old ElvIs Costell0 playing over the general noise. This is a comfort.

Maine sucks. I cannot stress this enough. My face is chapped. My lips are cracked. I've become used to constant dim light. The b/f and I expect to be blinded when we return to NC. I do not like his family and interestingly enough, I think he's discovered that he doesn't like his family as much as he thought he did. The basic common courtesies are absent. Don't misunderstand; the BIG courtesies are more than abundant. I mean, we didn't pay for our plane tickets, I got a $50 haircut for free and expensive hair products at cost. I haven't paid for a bite of food since arriving. And the b/f's dad slipped him a couple hundred bucks our first night here so we'd be able to DO things.

However ...

The step-mother (you know, who is probably my age) had her esthetician's certification test today. She had to have a body, or at least the face of a body to use during the 'practical' part of the exam. Her original person flaked out on her and she asked if I would do it. But of course, I say. The least I can do. She does not tell me everything at once though. Eventually I find out the following things: The testing is in Bangor, maybe 2 hours north of P0rtland. Erm, OK. We have to be there at 10AM for the registration. Yikes, OK. Oh wait, we're not driving, we're taking the bus. On Sunday night, spending the night in Bangor, then I can kill 3 hours or so after I am no longer needed and we'll take the bus back, getting us into town at 9PM on Monday. Please notice that it is 7:30-ish on Monday. This is because I flipped out. The b/f and I had specifically reserved Sunday for ourselves; we were going to go to our own hotel room and be naked and smoke freely. But no ... our plans were changed without anyone asking if that were OK!! I was so frikkin' angry. Hi, how are you? I'm an adult, do NOT make decisions for me. Do not assume anything. So I vented at the b/f (who was not happy either) and he decided he was coming with. And thank the powers that be that he did. Do you know what Bangor, Maine is like? Ugh. Its horrific. Its like what you imagine Maine to be. We got in at 9:30PM and everything and trust me I mean everything was closed. What the hell could I have done there all day? Agh.

But the b/f did come along and there's a great deal to be said for being naked and eating pizza in bed and smoking right there in the room. I'm in a better mood today. We took the first bus back as soon as step-mom was done with me.

And she passed with flying colors and I'm very happy for her.

That's the problem with these folks; I like them, generally. But they are so bloody self-absorbed ... you know, the money was nice dad but maybe you could ask if there's anything in particular we would like to do and work with us on that, huh?

Anyway; dad is now fairly clear on the notice that his eldest will not be joining the rest of the clan in Maine. I miss my small Girl-Child painfully. In order to get home Wednesday morning, we have to take the 5AM bus to Boston to get ourselves checked in at Logan for our slightly before 9AM flight and then change in Atlanta and I'm tired thinking about it.

Ah ... the sister just came in the caf�. Lets wrap this up, shall we?

Soon, my children, I shall be home. This is very very good.

previous - next

What You Just Missed...
Small Victories - 06 January 2004
Stems & Seeds - 05 January 2004
Um...Happy New Year? - 04 January 2004
An Update - 02 January 2004
The Fucking Blahs - 18 December 2003

Site Meter
Design by Ruby B with thanks to
and .